AEN Logo Australian Universities Header

Innovative Research Universities (IRU)

Innovative Research Universities (IRU) is a group of six Australian universities that share a common mode of operation and who believe that by coming together they will be better able to deliver value to their stakeholders. Most importantly, the group believes that they will be able to establish research concentrations and investment across the universities. There will also be opportunities to benchmark against each other along with collaborating in professional development initiatives, e-learning and new information and communications technology, income generation, and industrial issues. The member universities of IRU are:

  • Flinders University
  • Griffith University
  • La Trobe University
  • Murdoch University
  • James Cook University
  • Charles Darwin University (joined 2009)

These six universities share a common background having been founded in the 1960s and 1970s as research universities and it is estimated that collectively they have about 15 percent of total university enrolments in Australia. Each of the universities has developed highly regarded areas of specialisation and the formation of the group has resulted in all the member universities becoming stronger.

(University of Newcastle was one of the inaugural members of IRU but is no longer a member of this group)

Click on the link to visit the Innovative Research Universities (IRU) website (opens in new window).

Other Australian university groupings are:

There is also the disbanded university grouping:

Share This Page:

Australian Universities Guide
University Open Days
Which University has the Most Females
Like us on Facebook

Follow Us On Twitter
Latest News
Click for the:
Top 10 Highest Paid Vice-Chancellors @ Australian Universities

Click for the:
Top 10 Things To Do at a University Open Day